Monday, July 8, 2013

Friday, July 26, 2013 • Concert in New London

The Principal Pianist of the Delaware Symphony, Lura Johnson, and Jonathan Carney, Concertmaster of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, will perform at the First Baptist Church in New London, NH, on Friday, July 26 at 7:30 PM

Their extraordinary program will include:

• Three Violin Sonatas by Johannes Brahms
• Sonata No. 1 in G Major, Op. 78
• Sonata No. 2 in A Major, Op. 100
• Sonata No. 3 in D Minor, Op. 108
• Intermezzo for Piano Solo, Op. 118 No. 2

Lura Johnson, recently named a Steinway Artist, has established herself as one of the Mid Atlantic’s most prominent ensemble pianists.  Hailed as “brilliant” by the Washington Post, Ms. Johnson is celebrated for her passionate and insightful interpretations of the standard repertoire and esteemed by colleagues for her uncommon sensitivity and skill as a collaborative partner.  She has collaborated extensively in orchestral performances and recordings with such artists as Yo Yo Ma, Itzhak Perlman, Leila Josefowicz, and Jean-Yves Thibaudet.  Ms. Johnson has performed as soloist with the Baltimore Symphony as well as with regional orchestras in Maryland, Ohio, Delaware, and Massachusetts. Equally at home with contemporary music, she performs with VERGE Ensemble who are in residence at Washington’s Corcoran Gallery and who have rapidly established a commanding presence in the new music community both nationally and abroad.

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra Concertmaster Jonathan Carney begins his ninth season with the BSO after 12 seasons in the same position with London's Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. After enjoying critically acclaimed international tours as both concertmaster and soloist with numerous ensembles, Mr. Carney was invited by Vladimir Ashkenazy to become concertmaster of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in 1991. He was also appointed concertmaster of the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra in 1994 and the Basque National Orchestra in 1996. Recent solo performances have included concertos by Bruch, Korngold, Khatchaturian, Sibelius, Nielsen, the Brahms Double Concerto, and Vaughan Williams' The Lark Ascending, which was featured as a live BBC broadcast from London's Barbican Hall.                                                  

TICKETS:  Adults $25; Students $5 at, Chamber of Commerce, Morgan Hill Book Store, Tatewell Gallery, 603-526-8234, or at the door.
Seating is not reserved.  For more information, call 603-526-8234


Related Posts with Thumbnails